Broken Things

This is one of my favorite songs.  It makes me cry nearly every time.  It could be about a broken-hearted lover, but I believe she’s singing to God.  God makes all things new and He loves us even though we are bruised and battered.  It’s called “Broken Things”, and it’s by Juliet Turner.  She has such a clear and beautiful voice.  Close your eyes and listen.  And remember, even though our hearts have been down a long road, we are worthy of love.  Truly.

P.S.  I tried desperately to find an official video, but this is the best I could do.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aimee
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 00:10:48

    P.P.S…I’m thinking of showing my blog to my husband. Thoughts? I’ve been writing at night, deleting histories, generally keeping it very secretive, though he does know about it. I think it’s time. Yet another fear….

    Reply

  2. dancingwarrior55
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 21:00:28

    Aimee — I can’t thank you enough for sharing this video/song/artist. Such an exquisite voice for such a poignant song. It’s on my favorites list now. It reminds me, ever so slightly, of a song by Kasey Chambers (although hers is a voice made for country music/bluegrass, and while I love it I have to say it can be an acquired taste on some of her stuff). It is from the album Barricades and Brick Walls, and is titled “If I Were You”. “I Still Pray” and “Not Pretty Enough” on that CD also carry some resonance with your blog today. I’m not sure what of hers is on youtube, I was fortunate enough to see her when this CD came out in 2002 and she was a young woman of 22 traveling with her dad as a member of her band. From Australia, she made a big impression on me but once I moved away from Tampa and their excellent community radio station I lost track. I guess I’ll go check now:) Again, thank you for the Juliet Turner link. I will be listening to more of her stuff, and I’ve already shared it on my facebook page.

    Reply

    • Aimee
      Sep 26, 2012 @ 22:17:55

      I’ll have to check out Youtube and itunes for her music…thanks for the recommendation. I’m thinking of doing a post about songs that hit home. I’ve got a few in mind, and I’m curious what others have to say.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

