The Healing Has Begun


© 2010 Matthew West, Sparrow Records

I’m just back from Wednesday night choir practice at the church, so I thought a song might be appropriate tonight.  You know how I love the songs!  This is another song from Matthew West, a great Contemporary Christian singer.  What I love about his songs is that even non-Christians can find meaning and comfort in them.  This one, “The Healing Has Begun,” has a very uplifting message.

        How long has it been since you felt anything but shame?
        Child, lift up your eyes ’cause Mercy remembers your name.

When you’ve been the victim of rape or abuse, the shame can begin to take over your life.  We forget that God is there.  And that God understands shame completely.  He lived it on the cross.  Never forget that He knows your name and He loves you, despite the shame.  That’s when the healing can start.  You have to let go of the shame and start to let people in.

        Don’t be afraid to show them your beautiful scars,
       ‘Cause they’re the proof…yeah, you’re the proof
        The healing has begun.

All of us here have scars, and we hide them away.  Mine are deep and buried and I only bring them out here on this blog.  Don’t be afraid to show people yours.  Once I started letting them show, I truly could begin the healing process.  I thought I had done a great job of “getting over it”.  It took me 30 years to realize that burying the scars wasn’t healing.  It was hiding.

That last one is my favorite line on the whole album.  Sometimes, I just listen to that line over again several times to give myself a bit of strength.  Your scars are beautiful because they’re the signs that the wound isn’t open anymore.  And they make you who you are…

And we all know that you are beautiful 🙂

539100_543044375772153_1778906970_n
        

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. unladylikemusings
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 03:24:23

    I’m glad I decided not to listen to the song at work. I was practically sobbing in the first twenty seconds. Thank you for sharing this.

    Reply

    • Aimee
      Nov 14, 2013 @ 03:45:16

      I don’t want to make anyone cry at work!! I’m glad you waited too 🙂 I just love Matthew West…there’s a few of his songs that will do that to me.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: NaBloPoMo…the final day! | One Woman

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

