Is This What Mental Health Feels Like?

Well, I have now raised the concern of not one, but two of my followers because I haven’t posted in so long 🙂  I don’t blame them…I think the last time I went a month without posting was when my dad died.

First, I love that I have readers who notice that I’m gone.  How great is that?  Second, I’m just fine.

I had a rather rough Christmas (It was the first Christmas without my father and very emotional).  But I got through it just fine and a nice sense of calm has settled over me.

photo credit: ChaoticMind75 via photopin cc

photo credit: ChaoticMind75 via photopin cc

We’ve been snowed and frozen in here for the last month, so I’ve had many, many, MANY snow days off of school.  (Really, -30 degrees? That’s just not called for.  Ever.)  This gave me an extra long Christmas vacation and some mini-vacations throughout the month.  Lots of time to do things for myself.  I have read so many articles about self-care for survivors and apparently these authors were right!  Who knew??

Like so many other people in January, I joined the gym.  Now, you have to understand that I have never exercised.  Really, not ever.  There was some yoga one summer, and a brief stint of walking, but physical activity is not my friend.  This bad habit is catching up to me.  I’m hardly obese, but people over 45 need to exercise.  I’m tired of getting “that look” from my doctor every year when I go in for a physical.  It’s usually followed by some form of the “Women of a certain age…” comment.  Doctors out there–we’re onto your code.  Just say it.  “You’re getting old, Aimee!  Get off your behind or all types of evil health problems will befall you!”

This gym thing began as an activity to help out my mom.  She used to walk on the indoor track with my dad.  She wanted to continue, but Dad was no longer there and it was a memory-laden place for her.  So we decided to do it together.  Face our demons, get some good mother-daughter bonding time, and lose weight to boot.

The myriad of snow days and “cold days” gave me lots of time to go work out with Mom and by myself as well.  I’m loving it.  I’m feeling good.  Many of my aches and pains are going away, and I’m feeling really proud of myself.  It’s good to see Mom getting out too.  She has fibromyalgia, like me, and exercise is an excellent way to improve our symptoms.

But the best thing I’ve noticed is that this month I haven’t really thought about rape or abuse or other horrible things at all.  I told my husband the other day that I hadn’t blogged in awhile.  When he asked why, I smiled and said, “I haven’t felt rape-y in awhile!”  This is a very good thing.

I think I am back now.  I’m rested and refreshed, and ready to tackle the difficult issues.  Try some self-care of your own.  It seems to work!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 08:02:17

    Just the other day I told a co-worker I didn’t exercise, and I got “the look,” accompanied with a “Really??” I used to exercise…oh, I don’t know. I just don’t want to, even though I KNOW yoga would would keep my over-55 still-minor aches and pains from getting worse. ;o)

    Good to hear from you – I’m glad you’re back.

    Reply

  2. Aimee
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 17:13:32

    Well, we’ll see how long it lasts! It’s gotten Hubby off my back too. He walks every day, even in the -20 weather, and does some weights. He’s always been an exerciser and just can’t understand why I wouldn’t want to.

    Reply

  3. joynpain2
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 09:41:22

    I’m so happy for you. For some people exercise will exacerbate their symptoms. It’s great that it’s helping you with the pain some. Just remember to pace yourself and don’t overdo it. As good as you’re feeling, the last thing you need is a flare to bring you back down. I hope you continue to improve and I’m glad you’re getting some mother-daughter time as well. Two wins…no wonder you’re feeling better!

    Reply

    • Aimee
      Feb 06, 2014 @ 18:42:48

      Thanks Joy! I have learned the hard way in the past not to overdo it. It’s always a toss-up with fibro–if you don’t move at all, that can cause pain, but you have to be so cautious with exercise or THAT will cause pain. My doctor wants some moderate cardio–walking, swimming, etc. So far so good. No flares 🙂

      Reply

  4. loopyloos
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 10:00:29

    hello Aimee.
    Good to see you again. You’ve got me thinking about exercise,guess I don’t wanr people to see me.
    loopy loos

    Reply

    • Aimee
      Feb 09, 2014 @ 11:53:06

      I get that. I refuse to swim, even though my doctor has told me it would be the perfect exercise for my joints, because I don’t want anyone to see me. It’s not that I’m really overweight, either, just very self conscious about my body–no matter what size I’m at. Right now I’m just walking and doing the elliptical, and I’ve found that no one pays any attention to me. Everyone has headphones on and is kind of in their own little world. I bet you could find a gym that’s not crowded, or maybe you could go during off-peak times (I’ve found the gym is dead on Friday nights). That might make it easier to start.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

