Advice for the Loved Ones of Rape Survivors

In the wake of Sunday’s piano debacle, I did a lot of internet searching Monday about PTSD, anxiety, and panic attacks.  It took all day for me to shake the effects of the morning.  This is such a common problem, not just among rape survivors, but for people in general.

Mr. OneWoman suffers greatly from an anxiety disorder, as does our oldest son.  We’re quite a family 🙂  It is so difficult to be the partner/supporter/loved one of someone suffering through this battle.  I found a wonderful article at sometimesmagical.  Since so many rape survivors have these issues, I felt it was definitely worth sharing with you.

"Nest" comic from Robot Hugs

“Nest” comic from Robot Hugs

I know our loved ones are often at a loss for how best to help us.  It can be a heartrending experience, that helpless feeling you get when the one you love most is in the midst of a panic attack.  The article gives very practical advice, and points out that every person is different and what works for one person may not work for another.

I particularly liked the idea of having a plan in place ahead of time.  I am going to start thinking through what I feel would be the best thing for Hubby to do the next time I have an episode like this.  This is an article I feel you should definitely have your supporters read.  I hope you find some ideas that work for you.

Wishing you a calm, peaceful evening.  I’m going to go build myself a nest 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. J. Natrasevschi
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 11:13:02

    Reblogged this on Protect Yourself.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Advice for the Loved Ones of Rape Survivors | Spooky Stories
  3. unladylikemusings
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 04:31:37

    I love this cartoon. I’ve been missing for a while and as I get caught up on your posts I’m grateful for the people in my life who have been building nests with me the past few months. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

