I Write Because…

1798708_419119298223912_915158243_n

Writing terrifies me.  I have always felt the need and desire to write.  I have always kept little scraps of thoughts and sentences tucked away in corners of my closet, hidden from view.  Words fill my days and nights.  They dance off the page when I read and literally make me smile and laugh out loud.  The perfectly crafted sentence I see in a piece of literature fills me with awe and drives my need to write.  I cannot not write.

But for years, I hid this desire out of fear.  Fear that someone would read what I wrote.  Fear that they would see into my soul through my words.  Fear that my words could not possibly convey the depth of emotion I was feeling.  Fear of my fear.

This quote is perfect for me.  Instead of harming me and deepening my wounds, writing has lifted me up and made me stronger.  Stronger than I ever thought I could be.

I write because I have to.  I write to give me strength.  I write to make me whole.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emotionsz91
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 00:48:51

    Wow this post if very powerful. All we have are our words and they do give us strength and you can see through your post that you are strong. Keep at it.

    Reply

  2. IdealisticRebel
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 05:34:38

    That is because you are an artist. Your right brain cries out for you to write. The world needs your words. Hugs, Barbara

    Reply

  3. Finallyspeakingmytruth
    Mar 02, 2014 @ 10:29:06

    I love this post. So much truth it has. I relate to it so much. Writing has started to give my soul freedom. thank you for sharing this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

