Easter, Rape, and the Power of the Cross

Happy Easter everyone!  This is probably a post more appropriate to Good Friday, but I’ve been very busy, so here it is today.

Easter is the holiest day of the year for Christians.  It is a joyous day where we celebrate Christ’s resurrection and the fact that he died for our sins.  It is a day filled with hope and brimming with meaning.  I believe that the true meaning of this event is unique to each person.

We were participating in a Lenten bible study at our church where we looked at the last 24 hours of Christ’s life.  When we came to the actual crucifixion, we listened to a pastor give a very detailed sermon explaining the actual process of crucifixion.  I will spare you the details, but it was sobering indeed.  Then our pastor asked us to think seriously about what the cross meant to us, as individuals.  On a personal level.

photo credit: Darwin Bell via photopin cc

photo credit: Darwin Bell via photopin cc

I have given this a great deal of thought.  And though I was afraid to share at our bible study, here are my thoughts of the power of the cross for me, as a rape survivor.

For me, one of the worst aspects of my rape was the lingering shame that has stayed with me over the years.  When I see the cross of Easter, I cannot see the hope and promise without also seeing the shame and humiliation which Christ endured for us.

Which God endured for us.

He was dragged through the streets.  He was publicly flogged.  He was taunted and tortured.  He was stripped and broken and left to die.   And he had done nothing wrong to deserve this.

God is something so all encompassing…so above anything that we can comprehend.  He is the epitome of power.

And yet, when I look at the cross at Easter, I see that this all-powerful God knows exactly how I feel.  He has been through the shame that I felt.  He has felt the pain, known the sting of humiliation and fear.  He can truly understand my heart.  He willingly went through this to feel what I felt.

This is nothing short of amazing to me.  This is where I find hope.  This is the miracle of the cross for me.

I hope you have a blessed Easter.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. galeweithers
    Apr 20, 2014 @ 23:25:54

    Hope you and your family had a blessed Easter as well; thanks for sharing from your heart and agree 300% that God is the epitome of power 🙂

    Reply

  2. plf1990
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 16:56:21

    1. Thank you for sharing this post. I have nominated you for a Brave Heart Award:
    Stand Strong You Are Not Alone
    I call you a survivor, because that is what you are. There are days when you don’t feel like a survivor and there are days when the memories trigger your past and it feels like you are loosing the fight – but you are not. Take the past and heal with it. You are strong. I want you to know that the abuse was not your fault. It does not matter what age it happened. You did not deserve it, you did not cause it, and you did not bring it on yourself. You own no shame, guilt, or remorse. In your life, you have faced many demons but look around you and you will see there is hope, and there is beauty. You are beautiful, You are loved, there is hope. You deserve to be loved and treated with respect. You deserve peace and joy in your life. Don’t settle for anything less than that. God has plans for you. Your future does not have to be dictated by your past.
    Each step you take you are not alone.
    Stand Strong.
    Please follow the instructions on my blog to accept your award 🙂 thank you for blogging.
    http://www.understandingmeandher.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. Joy Pedrow
    May 28, 2014 @ 00:09:11

    This is beautiful. I am also a Christian and a rape survivor. I blog about Jesus and my story at joypedrow.wordpress.com. I really love this post and your connections. I look forward to continuing reading your posts and getting to know you. =]

    Reply

    • Aimee
      May 29, 2014 @ 00:58:59

      Thank you for your kind words, Joy 🙂 I look forward to reading your posts as well! I love when I meet other survivors who have not lost their faith…so many do.

      Reply

      • Joy Pedrow
        May 29, 2014 @ 01:02:05

        I actually began a relationship with Jesus after I was raped. My brokenness lead me to God. God’s plan for our lives is so much greater than we can ever imagine!

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

