Time Heals All Wounds?

1528704_716907868321114_906960203_n

Image

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. unladylikemusings
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 04:28:51

    I have been thinking about this a lot lately. I think healing is more like a cycle than a linear process. First of all the experience, whatever it is, changes the person and they can never be the same again. Sometimes we feel good and are very aware that the healing process is happening. A trigger becomes less triggering or you begin to cry less. Other times it feels as fresh and close as if you are still in the moment. You take a step back, big or little, when you experience a new trigger or a new memory surfaces.

    It’s kind of ironic that as I write this and listen to my itunes a song started playing that I had forgotten about. My heart started racing and my palms got clammy. I couldn’t open my music library fast enough to get rid of it.

    So, healing is a cycle. Hopefully a cycle that moves forward or up like a slinky but sometimes there’s a little movement back too.

    Reply

  2. unladylikemusings
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 04:53:32

    I’ve been working my way through a book called “Dear Sister.” It’s an anthology of letters from survivors of sexual violence. This has been incredibly healing for me. I just found out they have a website also. http://dearsisteranthology.com/

    Reply

  3. Aimee
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 23:52:36

    I just put the book on hold at my library. Is it terribly hard to read?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

