Prayers For My Students

Well, the heavens opened up last night and it was not pretty. Thank God, we had no flooding at the OneWoman household…I have been there, done that, and don’t want to do it again!

As I sat in my nice dry home last night, though, my Facebook feed was a non-stop deluge of posts about flooded basements, flooded streets, cars underwater, and family members stranded and unable to get to their homes. Here a a few random photos I snagged from my page:

IMG_0162.JPG

IMG_0164.JPG

IMG_0163.JPG

Here is a link to other photos around the metro Detroit area. And we’ve got more rain due to fall tonight. It was very disheartening to follow as the night unfolded.

I would like to ask for prayers for my students. The city I teach in is basically underwater right now. Most of my students are very poor. They all rent their homes and I am sure none of them have renter’s insurance. Many of them live several families to a home. I am very worried about them. These are kids who have nothing, and they may have lost a good deal of what little they did have. If you could keep them in your prayers, I would be forever grateful!

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

