100

When I first started this blog a year and a half ago, I had big plans for building a place for rape survivors to connect and share their stories.  But in reality I didn’t expect anyone to read what I had to say.

Right away, I got 2 followers.  I don’t know who you are, but you were so inspiring to me.  Just knowing that someone…anyone…had read something I had written and connected with it was amazing to me.  I sat and grinned.  Soon I had 5 followers, then 10.  I hovered around 10 for quite some time.  I was content.

Then something amazing happened.  People started reading my words and printing wonderful comments.  I was reblogged.  A year ago I did not know what in the world that even was.  People “linked” to me and said my words were powerful and beautiful.

Me.

Unbelievable.  I am the girl who hid her journals and notebooks under sweaters in the back of the closet so that even my husband wouldn’t find them.  I was that afraid of sharing my writing and who I was.

This month, while I wasn’t looking, in the flurry of back-to-school nonsense, my follower count crept over 100.  That is a number I never dreamed I would reach back when I first hit that publish button.   When I first noticed the big 3-digit milestone I was thrilled.

Then it sank in.  Almost all of those 100 people are also survivors of rape and sexual abuse.  These are my online friends.  I read their words daily.  They read mine.  We have bonded in this past year.  And they have been through horrible, horrible things.  It breaks my heart that there are 100 of us.  100 seems like such a lot of people.  100 people would fill my church.  100 people could not fit in my house if we tried.  It shatters my heart when I think that 100 represents an infinitesimally small fraction of ALL the rape survivors walking in the world today.

Thank you for taking this journey with me, all 114 of you.  You have no idea how this blog has changed me for the better.  You give me your strength.  I am just so very sorry that you all have to be travelling this path as well.  Much love to you!

hearts

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. justeramaajarvi
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 15:03:03

    Wow, I love this warm post 🙂
    Take good care!

    Reply

  2. racheltheromancediva
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 09:02:47

    ((hugs))

    Reply

  3. Denise
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 13:15:14

    It’s hard to meet so many people through grief and pain. But the grief and pain happened anyway – so best we take what comfort we can from each other.

    You were one of my first readers; I haven’t forgotten.

    Reply

  4. thecoffeehouseblogger
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 06:54:20

    This is an amazing blog and a lovely post! Rape is often something that is not talked about, often leaving the survivor feeling alone… This allows people from all walks of life to come together and support one another. I wish you all the best with this incredible thing you are doing 😀

    Reply

    • Aimee
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 18:48:55

      Thanks so much for stopping by and for the kind words. I always felt completely alone. It took 30 years for me to realize just how wrong I was. And I feel so much better now that I’ve reached out.

      Reply

  5. H
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 08:49:17

    You are my first reader too! thanks for finding me, now I can read your blog and connect too. x

    Reply

  6. 2010andstillhealing
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 18:25:12

    🙂 what lovely words… Thank you for sharing this thought x

    Reply

    • Aimee
      Oct 22, 2013 @ 18:51:55

      You’re welcome 2010…Thanks for sharing this journey with me 🙂 I’ve found such solace in “meeting” people like you online. It’s truly been a blessing.

      Reply

Leave a comment